curried egg salad surprise

I have been in denial … can it be that summer is truly over. In my denial I tempted fate and bought ” the last” of this years peaches. If the leaves changing colours wasn’t a big enough sign from mother nature – it hit me like a stringy tasteless wad of pulpy yuck…

It’s official, peach season is over – fall is in full swing. Of course fall isn’t the end of fruit season. My pulpy peach was contrasted by a bag full of apples, lovingly picked by my darling EC, Nana and Gramps. Juicy and crisp fall fruits are making my lack of peaches well worth while.

So begins my month of apple recipes. Enjoy!


If you’re paying attention you may be wondering what egg salad has to do with apples. OR you may have figured out the surprise. I am an egg salad officianado. It started when I was pregnant and for some reason the thing I craved beyond anything was egg salad (weird, I know). This version is a favourite. The inspiration to add apple came from my favourite lunch place when I’m visiting my in-laws in London, ON -¬†The Black Walnut¬†Cafe. Adding apples brings this family classic to another level of flavour and health.

Try it on eat a crisp piece of hearts of romaine.

4 hard-boiled eggs
2 tablespoon mayonnaise
1/2 teaspoon agave
1/2 teaspoon curry spice
2 tablespoons of diced red onion
1/2 diced sweet crisp red apple (like empire)

Chop eggs and mix the with other ingredients until thoroughly blended. Add more mayonnaise, spice and onion to taste. I tend to be conservative with the onion.

Gallery | This entry was posted in Gluten Free, Salad, Snack, Vegetarian and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to curried egg salad surprise

  1. Anonymous says:

    Looks amazing. Hoping to taste your version soon. hint hint.

Leave a Reply

