Grow Great Grub by Gayla Trail – book review

compost…
plant…
water…
seedlings…
water…
transplants…
water…
fertilize…
harvest…
mulch….
let’s not forget eat!

It can seem overwhelming to a novice gardener. I’ve been a small space urban gardener for 6 years – I’m only in my second year of starting vegetables from seeds. Over the last couple of years I’ve combed my way through a number of books on the small space vegetable gardening. I still have moments of feeling overwhelmed rather then enjoying the fruits of my labour. What to plant, how to plant, when to plant. It seems to take me months of planning before I begin to set my seeds in their cozy homes to sprout – let alone transplant them and keep them alive to harvest. But it IS worth it!

Gayla Trail’s Grow Great Grub is by far the most comprehensive yet consice book on “gardening for small spaces” that I have come across. If you are thinking about starting a small vegetable garden (if your not, you should be – in ground or in containers) this book will guide you through the basics and give you a good head start “beyond the basics”.

Most of the instructions in the book are given for both in-ground and container planting. Along with the easy to follow instructions Gayla gives some really inspiring ideas for reclaimed and inexpensive alternates to typical planters (like coffee-tin herbs and upside down tomatoes in a bucket) as well as beginner tips for cooking and preserving. The images are beautiful and the recipes lovely.

I may be biased but growing vegetables and herbs is one of the most rewarding hobbies you can undertake. I encourage everyone to start – even one planter with your favourite vegetable – just see what you can bring to life! Gayla’s Trail’s Grow Great Grub will get you started. Also, check out her website yougrowgirl.com which she has been growing for 11 years!

Gallery | This entry was posted in Book Review, Canning and Preserving, Gardening and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

