GF summer peach tart

Peach season is HERE!!!! When is comes to peaches I have a bias. In fact I have the biggest obsession with peaches and nectarines allowable.

I used to buy leathery, pulpy winter peaches and nectarines from far away lands. I realized that I was in peril of losing my love of peaches, so I gave up. Now I get my fill in the summer months.

A ridiculously easy tart that only needs  “a little” prep.


Pin It

This really is an easy tart (provided you already have the pie crust dough in the freezer ;)). With the dough made it took me less than 30 minutes for a complete BBQ dinner, salad and tarts

A couple of weeks ago I wrote a post with a Blueberry Tart from Janice Cole using a pie crust from Gluten Free Girl. If you haven’t had a chance to make this pie crust recipe I encourage you to give it a try. I only used half the dough for the tart recipe and thought I would freeze the second half to see what happened. What happened was perfect.

I took the dough out of the freezer in the morning and thawed in the fridge. At dinner I divided the dough in 6, flattened each piece by hand into a patty about 5 mm thick. I placed them into individual tart pans, pressed around the edges and baked for 15 minutes at 375 degrees.

NOTE: if you are not using non-stick tart pans please generously coat them butter or oil.

While the crust is cooking I skinned, pitted and sliced 10 peaches (I like to skin by hand and, in a rustic way, leave a little bit of skin on – it adds a beautiful colour and texture to the cooked tart).

After the tart shells had pre-cooked I piled sliced peaches in the shell, sprinkle with a teaspoon of sweet (your choice) and a bit of desiccated coconut. It baked for an additional 20-minutes in the pre-heated oven.

You may find the tarts quite liquidy.  It will become syrupy after it cools slightly – and who would complain about a bit of peach syrup 😉

While the tarts where cooking I whipped 250 ml of 35% cream with a teaspoon of vanilla extract and a teaspoon of sweet.

Voila!

Gallery | This entry was posted in Dessert, Entertaining, Gluten Free, Vegetarian and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

