apple week 2 – varieties and apple crisp

I walked into an elevator conversation about what the best tasting apple was…. Fugi, Macintosh, Empire, Honey Crisp, Cortland, Gala…. the conversation got me thinking, I wonder how many varieties there are. If I tried hard I could probably have thought of about 15 that we see on a regular basis – but I was sure there was more then that.

According to wikipedia there are 7,500 apple varieties. Shocking!

Apple Crisp is certainly not new. I’m sure every family has “their version recipe”. I recenlty made my apple crisp for a friend and was paid the most amazing compliment – I love it when I am complimented on my favourites – no matter how great I think something is, it nice to get praise. I served the crisp after a casual weekday meal and the response I got was “I’m going to cry”. I think that says it all!

Until a couple of years ago I used deep 8″ casserole until my husbands uncle brought an apple crisp to a family dinner in a shallow 10-1/2″ dish.  The shallow pan absorbs ore liquid and allows the sugar to caramalize at the bottom of the dish. It was sweet and delicious but what occurred to me was that you could use slightly tarter apples and less sugar and create an mazing balance of the two. What a fabulous classic fall dessert!

Preheat oven at 375 degrees

6 medium apples roughly peeled and chopped (a little skin add flavour and colour)
3/4 cups GF oats
3/4 cups rice flour
3/4 cups brown sugar
1/2 cup frozen* unsalted butter plus 1 tablespoon
1/4 cup water

Butter your dish with 1 tablespoon of butter and lay apples evenly. Blend the oats, flour and brown sugar and using your hands blend a little shredded the butter at a time into the mixture (*frozen will shred more easily than softer butter). Cover the apples with the oat mixture and bake for about 1hour until the top is golden and crispy.

I’ll pick another time to talk about the benefits of butter – in short I’ll say I think butter has had a bad wrap for many years. Butter is best for this recipe!

Gallery | This entry was posted in Baking, Dessert, Entertaining, Gluten Free and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

